Can You be a Fast Ironman?

ironman_racetype_ironman.pngScientists noted the common features in the best Ironman racers.


By Susan Lacke (triathlon.competitor.com)

Are there variables that can predict an athlete’s success at long-course triathlon? Scientists in Switzerland say yes. In a review of 76 studies on Ironman triathletes, researchers noted common themes in determining a successful outcome at the 140.6 distance...

When Triathlon Becomes an Unhealthy Compulsion...

night_runner.pngTenacity is an admirable trait when it comes to chasing your triathlon goals, but how do you know when your commitment has become an unhealthy compulsion?

By Mackenzie Lobby Havie (triathlon.competitor.com)

To be sure, balancing three athletic disciplines requires dedication. When you’re so focused on fitting it all in—or chasing your next PR—it can be easy to become consumed by the challenges (and rewards) the sport presents. While commitment is a good thing, compulsion is not. An addiction to training can have detrimental consequences for your relationships, finances, and physical and mental well-being....

Stuff That Successful Swimmers Do...

HL_pool_jump.pngNot seeing meaningful progress in the pool? Review these rules of successful swimmers to see where you might be standing—or swimming—in your own way.

By Sara McLarty (triathlon.competitor.com)

1. Technique comes first. Always.

My favorite adage when working with new swimmers is, “You can put 100 motors onto a barge, and it still won’t be a speed boat.” The only thing that is guaranteed when you spend more energy in the water is that you will tire quicker. Swimming, much like golf, is a skill sport, meaning that success comes more from technique than from effort. Spend time mastering the fundamentals of the stroke before focusing on power and speed. ...

2016 Performance of the Year: Women...

hanna_mile_eight.png2016 MINNESOTA MULTISPORT AWARDS - Today we post the final MMA category: FEMALE PERFORMANCE OF THE YEAR.

It's taken several weeks to narrow the long list of outstanding performances to just four, but here they are in alpha order by athlete:

1. - HANNA GRINAKER's record-setting victory at LAKE WACONIA, where she lowered the women's CR by 3:05.

2. - KORTNEY HAAG's course record at BUFFALO OLYMPIC. Her time--2:10:08--bettered the previous CR by more than two-and-a-half minutes. The women's field at Buffalo was very deep, with five members of 2015 Team Minnesota as well as rookie Grinaker.

3. - DIANE HANKEE's victory at APPLE DUATHLON, where she outraced what was arguably the deepest women's field of the year in our state.

4. - ERIN HYNDMAN-FARREN's 3rd place overall women's finish at IRONMAN LOUISVILLE. Her time was 10:02:29, which is the second fastest Minnesota women's 140.6 clocking ever...

2016 Race of the Year Finalists...


Voting for 2016 TRIATHLETES CHOICE RACE OF THE YEAR concluded yesterday. The way the TCROY is determined is that the votes for a race are divided by the number of its finishers giving us its  "% of Participation."


In 2016, 36 events received votes and seven of those races received the support of at least 5% of their finishers, and had 30 or more total votes. In alpha order, those races are:





Please update your Flash Player to view content.
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
Please update your Flash Player to view content.

ProJoom Multi Rotator: No banners detected!

Sign up! Get updates from MTN